Our Faculty

The faculty will be composed of well-educated, serious, and accomplished scholars who are proficient in some aspect of Southern history. The Institute will strive to use SCV Compatriots but will not be strictly limited in that respect so as to make use of specific talents from non-SCV members (e.g., Thomas DiLorenzo).

A few of the distinguished faculty who have already agreed to participate include:

  • Compatriot Clyde Wilson - Currently Editor of the John C. Calhoun Papers at the University of South Carolina.

  • Robert Krick - Former historian at Fredericksburg National Battlefield Park

  • Compatriot Walter Brian Cisco - Author of biographies of Wade Hampton, Henry Timrod, and Gen. States Rights Gist, among other works.

  • Marshall DeRosa - Professor of Political Science at Florida Atlantic University; author of The Confederate Constitution: The politics of disunion, The Ninth Amendment, and other works.

  • Thomas DiLorenzo - Professor of Economics at Loyola University-Baltimore and author of the best-selling The Real Lincoln.

  • Compatriot James E. Kibler - Professor of English at the University of Georgia, world’s leading authority on William Gilmore Simms, author of novels, stories, and Poems From Scorched Earth as well as the prize-winning Southern history Our Father’s Fields.

  • Compatriot Donald Livingston - Professor of Philosophy at Emory University, National Endowment for the Humanities Fellow.

  • ANV Commander Randy Burbage - Member of the South Carolina Hunley Commission.

  • Compatriot William Watkins, Esq. - A practicing attorney, he is a Fellow of the Independent Institute and author of The Kentucky and Virginia Resolutions: Guideposts of Llimited Government.

  • Thomas H. Landess - Former professor of English at the University of Dallas. Author of numerous books and articles, he is also a Contributing Editor for Southern Partisan magazine.

  • Compatriot John C. Perry - Former ATM Dept Commander, author of Myths & Realities of American Slavery: The True History of Slavery in America.

  • Ed Bearss - Historian Emeritus of the National Park Service

  • Samuel C. Smith - Professor of History at Liberty University

  • Kent Masterson Brown - Author of War Between the States, historian, lawyer and graduate of Washington Lee University.

  • Thomas Moore - Historian, author and lives in Alexandria, Virginia.

  • Thomas Cartwright - Noted American historian and former Executive Director of The Carter House Museum in Franklin, Tennessee.

  • Brion McClanahan - Professor of History at Chattahoochee Valley Community College and author of The Politically Incorrect Guide to the Founding Fathers.

  • R. Michael Givens - Past Commander-in-Chief of the Sons of Confederate Veterans and is a noted filmmaker.

  • Walter D. Kennedy - Noted Southern heritage author, television personality, and 2008 candidate for president of the United States.

  • David Aiken - An avid War Between the States expert and a Professor of English at the College of Charleston.

  • Ryan S. Walters - Author and College Professor.

  • Kirkpatrick Sale - Author and Noted Speaker.
  • Kathleen Mayes Hines - Historian, author and current graduate student.

  • Jeffery Addicott - Dr. Jeffrey Addicott is currently a Distinguished Professor of Law and the Director of the Center for Terrorism Law at St. Mary’s University School of Law, San Antonio, Texas.

  • Egon Tauseh - Historian and author.


The above listed scholars have all agreed to participate as needed.